Air Force ROTC commission 6 Lieutenants in May Ceremony

May 24, 2024


University of Nebraska Air Force ROTC held its annual ceremony to commission 6 Second Lieutenant on Sunday, 19 May at the Wicks Alumni Center. Five students received commissions into the US Air Force, while 1 student was commissioned into the US Space Force. The guest speaker for the ceremony was Lieutenant Colonel CJ Zaworski. He was the Commander of Detachment 465 at the beginning of the commissionees' ROTC and is now currently the Director of Operations of Southeast Region ROTC at Maxwell, Alabama.



During the commissioning ceremony, the newly appointed lieutenants participated in the traditional Silver Dollar Salute. This recognition marks the first salute received by the officer from an enlisted member. As a sign of mutual respect, the officer presents the enlisted member with a silver dollar. 


  • Grant Jones - Law
  • Luke Landkamer - Mechanical Engineering
  • Michael Price - Russian
  • Julian Rokes - International Business
  • Ethan VanEnkevort - Nursing
  • Taylor Ziepke - Mathematics